Home > About > News and Events > News Releases > News Releases 1999 > Twenty-Seven Inducted into Division of Continuing Education Honor Society
News Release

Twenty-Seven inducted into Division of Continuing Education Honor Society

Delta Omicron chapter of Alpha Sigma Lambda, honor society for continuing education students in the Division of Continuing Studies at Moravian College, inducted 27 students at the annual induction ceremony in Borhek Chapel.

Officiating at the ceremony were current officers Leanne Strawn, '96 (Hellertown), president; Carole Kalman '93 (Hellertown), secretary; and Lori Lawler '98 (Allentown), treasurer, assisted by Bonnie DeMicco, (Macungie), advisor to economics and business majors, and Linda Kvamme (Allentown), assistant dean of continuing studies.

Music for the ceremony and program was provided by Deborah Madey,'96 (New Tripoli), who played a variety of 19th century and Broadway show selections. Linda Heindel (Easton), dean of continuing studies welcomed the inductees and their guests.

Sharon Billington '92 (Allentown) delivered a meditation on her experiences as an adult student with full-time job, young children, and multiple responsibilities. New officers for the next biennium were introduced: Denise Stangl (Bethlehem), vice president, and Gracinda Glick '99 (Bethlehem), secretary. The third annual Delta Omicron ASL Scholarship was awarded to Amy Herczeg (Bethlehem). The chapter raises the money for this scholarship through hoagie sales and other fund-raisers.

Those inducted were:

    Heather Bambu (accounting) Bethlehem
    Carmen Bartek (accounting) Bethlehem
    Alada Bartolucci (management) Bethlehem
    David Carr (sociology) Allentown
    Sook Lee Choi (accounting) Bethlehem
    Deborah Cumello (history) Allentown
    Deborah DeFranco (sociology) Bangor
    Evangeline Dollemore (music) Alburtis
    David Donnangelo (art) Bethlehem
    Amy Herczeg (psychology) Bethlehem
    Anne Hills (psychology) Bethlehem
    Doreen Hoffman (management) Phillipsburg, NJ
    Jeffrey Kotash (management) Bethlehem
    Salvatore LaDuca (management) Easton
    Bruce Magida (economics) Allentown
    Laura McGarry (art) Allentown
    Carole Olszweski (I-O psychology) Catasauqua
    Pamela Reiss (English) Kempton
    Stephanie Sandt (management) Palmer
    Melodie Schaffer (psychology) Easton
    Patricia Spaziani (human resource management) Bethlehem
    Heidi Stoffa (sociology) Easton
    Lauren Turkel (human resource management) Palmer
    Deborah Volk (art) Easton
    Denise Yonney (management) Hellertown
    Bonnie Zucal (management) Bethlehem
    Kathleen Zurenko (religion) Allentown

Following the ceremony and a reception, the group adjourned to the HUB for a dinner at which Rita Cortez '98 (Pen Argyl) entertained with cabaret songs and jokes.