Home > About > News and Events > News Releases > News Releases 1998 > Moravian Theological Seminary names new trustees
News Release

Moravian Theological Seminary names new trustees

The Moravian Theological Seminary recently welcomed the addition of new members to its board of trustees. In total, six members have been added. Five new members have joined the Seminary’s board of trustees and one trustee was re-elected.

Rev. Richard L. Bruckart, Rev. Gary L. Harke, and Rev. Lawrence R. Christianson were elected at the recent 1998 Northern Province Synod of the Moravian Church. Rev. Hopeton Clennon was elected to serve another term as trustee. Earlier this summer, the Rev. David B. Guthrie and the Rev. Dr. Paul A. Wee joined the Moravian Theological Seminary board of trustees.

Rev. Richard L. Bruckart is a Pastor at the Emmaus Moravian Church in Emmaus, PA. He also serves as vice president of the Eastern District Ecumenical Board and is a member of the Emmaus Historical Forum, Rotary International, and Emmaus Ecumenical Ministries. Rev. Bruckart is a graduate of Moravian College. He received a Master of Divinity degree from the Moravian Theological Seminary in 1982.

Rev. Lawrence R. Christianson is president of the Western District of the Moravian Church in Sun Praire, Wisconsin. He is the former pastor of the Waconia Moravian Church in Waconia, Minnesota, and former vice-president of the Western District. Rev. Christianson is a graduate of the University of Wisconsin in Oshkosk, WI. He received his Master of Divinity degree from United Theological Seminary of the Twin Cities, New Brighton, Minnesota.

Rev. Gary L. Harke is a Staff Associate, Provincial Elders' Conference, Northern Province Moravian Church in Madison WI. He also serves on a number of ecumenical and interfaith boards and committees. He is a graduate of Olaf’s College in Minnesota. He received a Master of Divinity degree from Yale University’s Divinity School.

Rev. C. Hopeton Clennon is the pastor of Schoeneck Moravian Church in Upper Nazareth Township. Rev. Clennon has been a Seminary Trustee since 1994. He is also a member of the Interprovincial Faith and Order Commission and Program Planning Committee for Hope Conference and Renewal Center. He is a graduate of the University of the West Indies. He received a Master of Divinity degree from the United Theological College in Jamaica.

David Guthrie is a pastor at the Rolling Hills Moravian Church in Longwood, Florida. He also serves on the board of directors and chairs the Administration Committee of the Christian Sharing Center in Florida. He is a graduate of the Moravian Theological Seminary with a Master of Divinity degree.

Dr. Paul Wee is pastor of the Lutheran Church of the Reformation located on Capitol Hill in Washington, D.C. From 1986 to 1993, Dr. Wee was the Assistant General Secretary for International Affairs and Human Rights of the Geneva-based Lutheran World Federation. Dr. Wee graduated from Harvard University and later received his Ph.D. from the Free University of Berlin.

The Board of Trustees is responsible for governing Moravian College. In that role, it sets forth the Seminary mission and purposes, ensures that the seminary is well managed and resourced, reviews academic programs, and promotes strategic planning.