Home > About > News and Events > News Releases > News Releases 2004 > Moravian College Society of Physics Students Wins Award
News Release

Moravian College Society of Physics Students Wins Award

(Bethlehem, Pennsylvania) – The Moravian College chapter of the Society of Physics Students has been selected as an outstanding SPS Chapter for the 2002-2003 school year. Less than 10 percent of SPS chapters in the nation receive this honor, about one per state. Selection for this award is based on the depth and breadth of SPS activities in areas such as physics research, public science outreach, physics tutoring programs, hosting and representation at physics meetings, and providing social interaction for charter members.

The Moravian College chapter of SPS has been in existence since 1969 and is a member society of the American Institute of Physics. Over the course of the 2002-2003 school year, members participated in a variety of programs. Students developed an outreach program in which they traveled to local elementary and middle schools, giving lessons and demonstrations in physical and life science topics. Students also tutored Introductory Physics college students two nights a week for two hours through the tutoring program.

Each year, the chapter designs, sets up, runs, and grades the “Physics Lab” for the Science Olympiad held at the college in March. Students evaluate and grade the experiments which the visiting students are asked to perform. The chapter regularly sponsors guest lecturers, including talks from other SPS members about research they have done, particularly during the summer at other institutions like William and Mary College, University of Connecticut, Lehigh University, etc. Students also held two movie nights throughout the school year.

In April 2003, four seniors and one junior presented their papers at the annual meeting of the Central Pennsylvania Section of the American Association of Physics teachers held at Millersville University. Presenting students included Matthew Bowers ’03 , Aaron Buckner ’03 (now at Notre Dame University), John Lesoine ’03 (now at University of Rochester), Steven Sweeney ’03 (now at Lehigh University), and Anthony Costantino ’04.

There are currently 19 members of Moravian’s SPS. They are: Tim Schaeffer (president), Dana Patchcoski (vice president), Katie Washer (secretary), Amy Kish (treasurer), Tony Costantino, Maryellen Watson, Michael Lesoine, Aditya Khanna, Dan Corey, Neil Dobracki, Casey Hoffman, Peter Coldwell, Fethulla Demircan, Dale Grandfield, Chris Marin, Kenny Kwok, Josh DiGiacomo, Brynn Chromiak, and Margaret Benny.