Inside Moravian
e-Newsletter of the Moravian College Campus Community • 5/14/14

ABOVE: The Moravian Theological Seminary hosted its commencement ceremony on May 10 on the Priscilla Payne Hurd Campus. (Photos courtesy of the Seminary)


Moravian Theological Seminary Celebrates 2014 Commencement

Moravian Theological Seminary celebrated the conclusion of its 207th academic year with a commencement ceremony on May 10. The service was held in Central Moravian Church in Bethlehem, with President Bryon Grigsby ’90 presiding.

Twenty-one graduates received master’s degrees and certificates including the Master of Divinity (MDiv), Master of Arts in Clinical Counseling (MACC.), Master of Arts in Theological Studies (MATS.), Graduate Certificate in Spiritual Direction and Graduate Certificate in Formative Spirituality. This year marks the first graduating cohort of Spiritual Direction students. (For photos of the Seminary's commencement, click here.)

Elected by her fellow graduates, Christine Holmfelt delivered the graduate address. Holmfelt earned her undergraduate degree in English from Virginia Tech, then found a career in education. She chose to attend Moravian Theological Seminary in order to fulfill a deeper sense of call to serve in the community. During her time at seminary, she completed internship placements at the Northampton County Jail in Easton, Pa. and the Penn Foundation in Sellersville, Pa. She has earned dual graduate degrees in clinical counseling and social work through Moravian Theological Seminary’s partnership with Marywood University. Holmfelt plans to remain in the Lehigh Valley to work in the behavioral health field.

Dean and Vice President Frank Crouch delivered the commencement address, introduced by Rt. Rev. Dave Bennett, chair of the Moravian Theological Seminary Board of Trustees. In his address, Rev. Dr. Crouch encouraged the graduates to serve in their fields with compassion and professionalism motivated by their deep love for humanity.

Seven academic awards were presented at the ceremony. James Lavoy received the Cora Doster Moses Memorial Homiletics Prize for the best work done in homiletics and practical pulpit work by a graduating senior. Garritt Fleming, current MTS student, received both the J. Taylor Hamilton Biblical Language Prize for the best student in Hebrew and the Herman T. Frueauff Memorial Prize in Moravian History for his outstanding class work and research in the field of Moravian history. Christine Holmfelt was awarded the Henry Gerdsen Book Prize in recognition of intellectual, personal, and professional growth, as well as a commitment to involvement in the Seminary community. Stanley Theodoredis received the Faculty Academic Prize, selected at the discretion of the faculty to the students who not only maintain a high academic standing but also exemplify superior creative scholarship, and the Barbara Martin Stout Counseling Prize for his outstanding academic achievement and professional development in counseling. John Fritts received the Rev. Elmer D. Bender Memorial Award for a worthy individual preparing for the ministry of the Moravian Church.

The following are the 2014 graduates of Moravian Theological Seminary:

The Master of Arts in Clinical Counseling was presented to Stephanie Christine Barnett summa cum laude (Bethlehem, Pa.), Jeremy Todd Campbell (Metuchen, N.J.), Dania Garcia (Allentown, Pa.), Christine Carolyn Holmfelt cum laude (Chester, N.J.), Jenny Jean-Louis (Hamilton, N.J.), Stanley Emmanuel Theodoredis summa cum laude (Bethlehem, Pa.), and Linda Roth Unser cum laude (Carlisle, Pa.).

Joseph Benjamin Arnoldin (Allentown, Pa.) received the Master of Arts in Theological Studies.

Recipients of the Master of Divinity are Jeremy Todd Campbell (Metuchen, N.J.), John W. Fritts (Bethlehem, Pa.), Elisandra Garcia (Allentown, Pa.), Joanna M. Herren (Bethlehem, Pa.), and James Lee Lavoy (Philadelphia, Pa.).

Graduate Certificates in Spiritual Direction were presented to the first-ever cohort, which included Elizabeth M. Buss (Schenectady, N.Y.), Maureen A. DeBellis (Bethlehem, Pa.), Kathy Ann DeSantis (Schnecksville, Pa.), Margaret A. Donohue (Bethlehem, Pa.), Sylvia Muniene Muller Doyle (Whitehall, Pa.), Michael Clifford Johnson (Phoenixville, Pa.), Scott E. Kuykendall (Minneapolis, Minnesota), and Lynn Aprill Webb (Washington, N.J.).

The Graduate Certificate in Formative Spirituality was presented to Sylvia Muniene Muller Doyle (Whitehall, Pa.) and Irene Berke Spangler (Dunellen, N.J.).

Moravian Theological Seminary is part of Moravian College and offers graduate degrees and continuing education programs to prepare men and women for effective leadership and service in congregational, counseling, teaching, and other ministries. The Seminary is rooted in the Moravian faith tradition—centered in Jesus Christ, grounded in Scripture, ecumenical in spirit, committed to community, and focused on missional leadership.


< Back to main page