Third Annual Alumni Association Awards Ceremony

Almost 180 people gathered on the Priscilla Payne Hurd Campus on November 1, 2002, for the Alumni Association’s third annual Awards Ceremony and reception to honor alumni for service and achievement.

Alumni Association president Jan Gollins ’72 presented the awards.

For more than 15 years of providing legal access to minorities and the poor, Frederick P. Rooney ’75 was honored with the Haupert Humanitarian Award. Fred majored in Latin American studies at Moravian and then earned a master’s degree in bicultural/bilingual studies from Marywood College. After completing a law degree at City University of New York, he started a community-based bilingual law firm in Brooklyn, which was recognized by the Pennsylvania Bar Association for its work in community law, custody issues, and affordable law, much of it offered pro bono. In 1998, he returned to CUNY to direct its Community Legal Resource Network, praised by the American Bar Association Journal for providing a network and resources for CUNY law graduates in community practice.

The Benigna Education Award went to Jack Ridge ’53, who spent 41 years as a scientist and mentor of young scientists at Moravian. Jack graduated from Moravian summa cum laude with a triple major in physics, chemistry, and mathematics. After a year as a research scientist at E. I. Dupont Corp., he completed an M.S. and Ph.D. in physics at Lehigh University (while teaching mathematics and physics at Moravian). He chaired the Department of Physics and Earth Science from 1959 to 1995 and was Moravian’s Louise E. Juley Professor of Science from 1993 to 1995. Retired since 1996, Jack continues to serve the College as a professor emeritus.

Roy B. Goshorn ’58 received the Comenius Alumni Award in recognition of his distinguished career as a television news producer, editor, writer, and weather broadcaster. Roy worked at local newspapers in Allentown and Bethlehem while earning a B.A. in English from Moravian and an M.A. in journalism from Lehigh University. Starting in 1971, he spent 21 years with ABC-TV News as an assignment editor, writer, and producer for the ABC Evening News and Nightline. Among his highest-profile stories were an interview with Eldridge Cleaver in Algeria and coverage of President Nixon’s historic trip to China. The Associated Press, United Press International, Columbia University, and the Pittsburgh Press Club have honored him for his excellence in investigative journalism and news coverage.

Scott D. Pfeiffer ’92 received the Young Alumni Achievement Award for his exceptional career in architectural acoustics. Scott received a B.S. in physics with honors in music from Moravian, then studied acoustical engineering at the Technical University of Denmark. He joined Kirkegaard Associates in Chicago, one of the busiest and most respected acoustical engineering firms in the world, specializing in the acoustic design and renovation of concert halls. Scott has been project manager for acoustic work at Orchestra Hall, Chicago; Royal Festival Hall, London; the New York State Theater and the Juilliard Theater at Lincoln Center; Boston Symphony Hall; the Academy of Music, Philadelphia; and the Teatro de Colón in Buenos Aires, Argentina, among others.

Tennant Magee ’96 received the Alumni Association’s Emerging Leader in absentia for his dedicated service to his alma mater. As an undergraduate, Tennant was an active member of the senior class gift committee, student phonathon, United Student Government, the Comenian, Delta Tau Delta, and the golf team. After receiving a master’s degree in political science from Lehigh University and a law degree from the University of Baltimore, he joined the staff of the Maryland State Attorney’s office in Baltimore. Despite his busy professional schedule, Tennant continues his involvement with Moravian, serving on the Young Alumni Board and as a class agent. In 2001 he initiated alumni support that helped Moravian apply (successfully) for inclusion in the Princeton Review Guide to the Best 345 Colleges.

The Alumni Association also recognized the Class of 1966 for the largest class gift to the 2001-2002 Annual Fund, totaling $245,954, and the class of 1942 for the highest percentage of donors, at 57 percent.

Above, Joseph Powlette ’60, chair of the Physics and Earth Sciences Department, presented both Jack Ridge ’53 and Scott Pfeiffer ’92 for their Alumni Association awards.


Fred Rooney ’75 is flanked by Linny Fowler, Bethlehem philanthropist and children’s advocate, who presented him for the Haupert Humanitarian Award, and Barbara Lloyd, his Spanish teacher at Moravian.


Jan Gollins ’72 presents the Comenius Alumni Award to Roy Goshorn ’58.

Photos: Tim Gilman '73