Greyhound Sports

The Moravian College Hall of Fame welcomed seven members—Dan Bloom ’87, Katherine Beck DeKorte ’92, James Lasko ’86, John Makuvek, Michelle Ann Betz Reichenbach ’89, Stephen A. “Doc” Sydorak ’43, and James Walters ’84—at its annual induction dinner, held on Friday, November 15, 2002. Also honored were Dr. Denise Torma ’77 with the Robert Martin Herbstman Award and the 1991-92 women’s basketball team.

Bloom was a member of the men’s soccer team for four years and finished his career third all-time with 36 goals and fourth all-time with 83 points. Bloom was a two-time NSCAA Regional All-American and a three-time All-MAC First Team All-Star. Bloom received the Greyhound Award as Moravian’s Outstanding Senior Male Athlete in 1987.

DeKorte lettered four years in women’s basketball and set school records with 1,936 career points and 1,014 career rebounds. She was a two-time Kodak All American and the 1991-1992 Kodak Division III Player of the Year. DeKorte led the Greyhounds to the NCAA Division III National Championship game in 1991-92. She was a three-time MAC All-Star, MAC Southeast and ECAC South Player of the Year in 1991-92, and the ECAC Rookie of the Year in 1988-89. She also led Moravian to the MAC Championships in the 1990-91 and 1991-92 seasons. In 1992, DeKorte received the Greyhound Award as Moravian’s Outstanding Senior Female Athlete.

Lasko earned three varsity letters in football. He was the first Greyhound to reach 1,000 receiving yards in a season and he set the school record for 13 receptions in a game. In 1985, he set school records with 55 receptions, 1,144 yards, 20.8 yards per reception and 127.1 yards per game average. He had 84 career receptions to go along with 1,585 career yards. He also set the school records with 18.9 yards per reception in his career, 58.7 yards per game and 10 touchdowns. In 1985, Lasko was a member of the MAC All-Star First Team, the All-ECAC South All-Star team, the MAC All-Academic team, and was an AP Little All-American Honorable Mention.

Makuvek was the head men’s soccer coach for 24 seasons. His teams posted a record of 219 wins, 134 losses, and 31 ties from 1968-1991. He led the men’s soccer team to nine ECAC Tournaments, the 1982 NCAA Tournament and the 1983 MAC Championship. Makuvek has been head golf coach since 1968 and he has a record of 300 wins and 197 losses heading into 2002-2003. Makuvek, who is retired as professor emeritus, also served as athletics director from 1992 to 1996.

Reichenbach lettered four years in track and field. She set the outdoor records in the 100 meters, 200 meters, and 4x100 meter relay. She was a two-time MAC Champion and an All-American in the 4x100 meter relay. Reichenbach set the indoor records in the 60 meters, 300 meters and 4x100 meter relay. She was a three-time MAC Champion in the 60 meters, a two-time MAC Champion in the 300 meters, and MAC Champion in the 4x100 and 4x400 meter relays.

Sydorak, who died in 1991, was represented at the induction by his wife, Marianne, and his son, Stephen Jr. He was a four-year standout on the football team and a two-year letterwinner on the baseball team. He played professional football for the Boston Yanks and Providence Steamrollers of the All-America Conference. Sydorak was a teacher and head football and baseball coach at Sayre High School from 1945 to 1947. He was an assistant football coach at Moravian from 1955 to 1959 and then was the head football coach at Liberty High School from 1959 to 1962.

Walters was a three-year letterwinner on the men’s basketball team. He set the Moravian record for career assists with 405. Walters was a member of the All-MAC Southwest All-Star in 1983-1984. In 1983, he helped the team reach the NCAA Tournament. Walters also helped his team win the ECAC New York Metro Region Championship in 1983-1984.

Torma was a four-year letterwinner in badminton, a three-year letterwinner in volleyball, and she participated in tennis for one season. She was the badminton MVP in both 1976 and 1977. In 1977, Torma was the volleyball team MVP. She was also a member of the MAC All-Conference Team. She received the Greyhound Award as Moravian’s Outstanding Senior Female Athlete in 1977.

The 1991-92 women’s basketball team posted an overall record of 31-2, won the MAC Championship and hosted the NCAA Division III Final Four before losing to Alma in the National Championship game.

2002 Hall of Fame honorees: front row, Daniel Bloom, Katherine Beck DeKorte, James Lasko, Michelle Betz Reichenbach, and Marianne Sydorak. Back row, Denise Torma (Herbstman Award winner), James Walters, John Makuvek, and Stephen Sydorak Jr.

Photo: Tim Gilman '73