Six distinguished Moravian College alumni will be honored at the 8th Annual Alumni Association Awards Ceremony on Friday September 19, to be held from 6 to 9 p.m. at the Priscilla Payne Hurd Campus. For registration information, please visit 8th Annual Alumni Association Awards

Lloyd H. Michael ’64Lloyd H. Michael ’64 of Houston, Texas, is the recipient of the Comenius Award. He received his B.S. degree in biology from Moravian, M.S. degree in physiology from Kent State University, and Ph.D. degree in medical physiology from University of Ottawa School of Medicine. Now in his 33rd year at Baylor College of Medicine,  he is a professor in the Departments of Medicine, Surgery and Molecular Physiology and Biophysics. He also is senior associate dean for medical school admissions. In light of his extensive research and publications in the cardiovascular field, he was elected as a fellow in the American Heart Association. He is a director in the DeBakey Heart Center, and along with Michael E. DeBakey, M.D., has been a spokesman for responsible use of animals in medical research and is a Council member for the animal research accreditation organization, AAALAC, International. 
Holden T. Waterman '70

Benigna Education Award recipient Holden T. Waterman ’70 of West Hartford, Conn., received his B.A. degree in music education from Moravian. He earned his M.Ed. degree from University of Vermont, where he currently is associate professor and director of its Asian Studies Outreach Program. He received his Ed.D. degree from University of Pennsylvania. He has been a member and has held offices in numerous professional organizations, including the Connecticut Association for Middle Level Education of which he was a founding member.

Kevin R. Bush '02Kevin R. Bush ’02 of East Stroudsburg, Pa., is one of this year’s Emerging Leader Award recipients. He received his B.A. degree in social science education from Moravian, and this past year, he completed his M.Ed. degree in curriculum design and instruction at his alma mater. A social studies teacher and head track and field coach at Liberty High School in Bethlehem, he has been an active member of the Moravian community since graduation. He is a member of the Alumni Board of Directors, has organized and chaired the Alumni Weekend 5K races, and volunteered at Homecoming Weekend.

Scott A. Heydt ’02Scott A. Heydt ’02 of Chalfont, Pa., is also an Emerging Leader Award recipient. He earned his B.A. degree in psychology and teacher certification from Moravian and has continued his education at Duquesne University in the area of leadership and liberal studies. He teaches fifth grade at Groveland Elementary School in Doylestown, Pa., where he has received the Promising Practices award from the Character Education Partnership for his implementation of the "6 Pillars of Leadership" program as well as the Central Bucks School District Apple Award for his implementation of the "Green Team" environmental club. He is a member of the Alumni Board and is the International Director of Academic Affairs for Delta Tau Delta Fraternity’s Board of Directors. In late September, Scott will also celebrate the release of his first young adult novel entitled O.Y.L.

Brenda J. KrajciBrenda J. Krajci of Saucon Valley, Pa., is this year’s Honorary Alumna. Along with her husband, the late Cy Krajci ’65, she was co-chair of the presidential inaugural committee to honor the installation of Christopher M. Thomforde as Moravian’s 15th president. She also was co-chair of the decorations and food committee for the 2004 Celebration Ball. A member of the Moravian College Music Alliance, she serves on the Great Artist Series Committee. She has supported other departments and events, including alumni relations and development, the Accounting Club, the annual holiday luncheon for New Bethany Ministries, and the men’s basketball team. The College named a room in the Priscilla Payne Hurd Academic Complex in honor of her parents and in-laws. She also has received the Priscilla Payne Hurd Moravian Pin. 

Honnie P. Spencer '90This year’s Haupert Humanitarian Award recipient is Honnie P. Spencer ’90 of Lake Norman, N.C. She received a B.S. degree in biology and B.A. degree in classical piano performance from Moravian, and M.D. degree from Case Western Reserve School of Medicine. An accomplished pianist, she received an Associate and Licentiate Diploma in Music from the Trinity College of Music in London, England, and the Cleveland Institute of Music. A proud Moravian originally from Antigua in the British West Indies, she is medical director of both the Cabarrus Community Health Centers, Inc. and the Perdue Wellness Center. She serves as an attending faculty physician for Cabarrus Family Medicine Residency Program. She also is adjunct assistant professor at University of Chapel Hill School of Medicine. In 2002, she founded the Logan Community Music School for indigent children and adults in the instruction of music theory and piano, which has grown to include 52 students.