Skip to main content

Moravian College Announces Fulbright Awards for 2020-2021

Image                                                                               Image  


William Pelletiers ’20 and Shianne Reimer ’20 have received Fulbright U.S. Student Program awards

BETHLEHEM, PA, May 6, 2020: Today, Moravian College announced that William Pelletiers ’20 and Shianne Reimer ’20 have received Fulbright U.S. Student Program awards for English Teaching Assistantships for the 2020-2021 academic year from the U.S. Department of State and the J. William Fulbright Foreign Scholarship Board.

Pelletiers and Reimer are among more than 2,100 U.S. citizens who will study, conduct research, and teach abroad through the Fulbright U.S. Student Program.  Recipients of Fulbright awards are selected on the basis of academic and professional achievement, as well as their record of service and leadership potential in their respective fields. 

Pelletiers and Reimer will be assigned to English teaching assistantships in Germany.

"William and Shianne are both very deserving of this exceptional award," said Bryon Grigsby, president of Moravian College. “They have exemplified what being a scholar is all about; both were named Millenium Fellows in 2018, and both have very bright futures ahead of them. They’ve made everyone at Moravian College very proud today.”

The Fulbright U.S. Student Program is administered at the Moravian College through Dr. Nicole Tabor, Director of the Fellowship Program (

The Fulbright Program is the U.S. government’s flagship international educational exchange program and is designed to build lasting connections between the people of the United States and the people of other countries.  The Fulbright Program is funded through an annual appropriation made by the U.S. Congress to the U.S. Department of State.  Participating governments and host institutions, corporations, and foundations around the world also provide direct and indirect support to the Program, which operates in over 160 countries worldwide.

Since its establishment in 1946 under legislation introduced by the late U.S. Senator J. William Fulbright of Arkansas, the Fulbright Program has given more than 390,000 students, scholars, teachers, artists, and professionals of all backgrounds and fields the opportunity to study, teach and conduct research, exchange ideas, and contribute to finding solutions to shared international concerns.

Fulbrighters address critical global challenges in all disciplines while building relationships, knowledge, and leadership in support of the long-term interests of the United States.  Fulbright alumni have achieved distinction in many fields, including 59 who have been awarded the Nobel Prize, 84 who have received Pulitzer Prizes, and 37 who have served as a head of state or government.

In the United States, the Institute of International Education supports the implementation of the Fulbright U.S. Student Program on behalf of the U.S. Department of State, including conducting an annual competition for the scholarships.     

For more information about the Fulbright Program, visit

Media contacts:
U.S. Department of State, Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs Contact:

Moravian College
Michael Corr
Director of Marketing and Communications

About Moravian College
Moravian College is the nation's sixth-oldest college located in Bethlehem, Pennsylvania offering undergraduate and graduate degrees that blend liberal arts with professional programs. For more than 275 years, the Moravian College degree has been preparing students for reflective lives, fulfilling careers, and transformative leadership in a world of change. Moravian College is a member of The New American Colleges and Universities (NAC&U), a national consortium of selective, small to mid-size independent colleges and universities dedicated to the purposeful integration of liberal education, professional studies, and civic engagement. Visit to learn more about how the Moravian College focus on education for all prepares its students for life-long success.

 United States Department of State · Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs · Washington, DC · 20522 ·