Anna Nitschmann Society

The society is named in honor of one of America’s first philanthropists, Anna Nitschmann, who understood the importance of education for all. She was instrumental in raising funds to establish the Girl’s School that would become Moravian University. Nitschmann was a pioneer for women philanthropists, and, like her, the society aims to be the nascent group for women philanthropists at the University. Nitschmann worked tirelessly to ensure Moravian women were afforded a superior education, at a time when many women had limited opportunities. Local indigenous women were even educated in her early Bethlehem. Nitschmann inspired, educated, and brought together all women for the betterment of her community. The Anna Nitschmann Society’s mission is to do the same today.

Membership Benefits

  • Vespers Tickets
  • Moravian Societies Dinner
  • Newsletter
  • Insider Updates
  • Special recognition at Founders Day Event in April
  • Invitations to faculty events of interest
  • Welcome packet for new members