Skip to main content


Joseph M. Shosh, Ph.D. ’88

Joe Shosh

The Benigna Education Award recognizes an alumna or alumnus for outstanding contribution to the field of education. In recognition of his leadership in providing excellent support, knowledge, and guidance to the undergraduate and graduate Education students at Moravian College, the Alumni Association is proud to present Joseph Shosh, with the 2015 Benigna Education Award.

Since arriving at Moravian College, Dr. Joseph Shosh ’88 has motivated students, faculty members, and the administration through his innovative undergraduate and graduate teacher education programs that strive to better the local and international communities. Currently chair of the Education Department, Dr. Shosh teaches courses in literacy education, composition, and educational research, in addition to supervising secondary education candidates in Pennsylvania, New York City, and London. He has also started several advanced degree and certification programs at the College.

At Moravian College, Dr. Shosh also directs the action research based graduate education program. He is respected nationally and internationally as one of the world’s leading Action Researchers. Furthermore, Dr. Shosh is one of five international initiators of the Action Research Network of the Americas and currently serves as the Chair of the Executive Committee of the Coordinating Group. In 2014, Dr. Shosh served as the Action Research Network of the Americas Conference Co-Chair. That year, the conference was held at Moravian and brought international recognition to the College.

In addition to serving as the associate editor of the Palgrave International Handbook of Action Research, Dr. Shosh’s action research has appeared in numerous publications, including Action Researcher in Education, Educational Action Research, English Journal, Inquiry in Education, Teaching Education, and Value and Virtue in Practice-Based Research. Dr. Shosh is also a past recipient of the National Council of Teachers of English Paul and Kate Farmer English Journal Writing Award, the James N. Moffett Award for Classroom Research, and Cornell University’s Merrill Scholar Teaching Award.