Skip to main content

The Albert Ferkel Jr. Memorial Prize

Political Science Award Winners

The Albert Ferkel Jr. Memorial Prize

To a senior political science major for demonstrated service in raising awareness of social justice issues to his or her fellow students. 


2024 - Pauline Francisco


2024 - Brianna Nigrone

2023 - Madeline Wickel   

2022 - Jillian Ferrara 

2022 - Erika Zarate      

2021 - Tatiana Lopez    

Brandon Faust

2020 - Brandon "Bran" Faust

Bran Faust graduated from Moravian with an entire resume of political engagement and a focus on social justice and climate awareness. Engaged in Moravian's student government, USG, as well as US presidential campaigns, he has been a constant contributor to political projects, conversations, and awareness. He was the graphic design editor of the Comenian, the president of the Interfraternity Council, and a member of the residence life team. Bran credits his advisor, the late Professor John Reynolds, with inspiring him to excel in both the study and practice of politics. -Khristina Haddad, Associate Professor of Political Science

Looking ahead: Brandon is seeking work within a political organization focused on promoting activism.

Justin Vatti

2020 - Justin Vatti

Justin Vatti's presence on campus has been remarkable. He encouraged his peers to become engaged in student government.  As a safe-zone-trained resident advisor for students who identify outside of the gender binary, he sought to create community by empowering others to find their own voices and to consider the reach of politics beyond self-interest. And as a political science student, he saw the broad impact of policies and procedures and championed engagement and participation. Justin also served others through spring break service projects. -Khristina Haddad, Associate Professor of Political Science

Looking ahead: Justin will be working with Delta Tau Delta undergraduate students across the country and plans to pursue a master's degree in higher education administration in the future.