Skip to main content

Program & Curriculum

Dunn Class

Program & curriculum

The Psychology program encompasses a wide body of knowledge. Complexities of human and animal behavior are discovered through experimental methods and inquiry. The psychology field is broad reaching, where professional endeavors are applied to human welfare and behavior.

Students who wish to pursue psychology can learn more through detailed course descriptions.

Students who declare psychology as their major will take 9 courses as part of a single curriculum for all students: an introductory course, a two-course statistics and methods sequence, four core requirements, one seminar course, and one elective. The curriculum for a B.A. in psychology is outlined as follows:  

Foundation courses

  • PSYC 120: Introduction to Psychology
  • PSYC 211: Experimental Methods and Data Analysis I (Prerequisite: Grade of C or better is required to advance to PS212 and to declare the major in psychology)
  • PSYC 212: Experimental Methods and Data Analysis II

Core courses

Students who declare a major in Psychology, must select one course from each cluster: 

  • Experimental-Cognitive cluster 
  • Clinical-Counseling cluster 
  • Social-Personality cluster 
  • Developmental cluster

Seminar course

A psychology major must complete one seminar course:

  • PSYC 375: Seminar in Social/Personality Psychology
  • PSYC 376: Seminar in Experimental/Cognitive Psychology
  • PSYC 377: Seminar in Developmental Psychology
  • PSYC 378: Seminar in Industrial/Organizational Psychology

Elective course

For their ninth course, students can choose any psychology course that is above the foundation course level.  The course should be chosen in consultation with the academic advisor. Electives include any of the courses listed under the clusters and seminars above, and may also be chosen from courses listed in the course catalog or special offerings in the department.

For specific requirements, refer to the current course catalog.

Psychology Minor

The minor in psychology consists of six course units: PSYC 120, PSYC 211, PSYC 212, and three additional courses that must include at least two 300-level courses. (Please note that in order to be eligible to declare the minor in psychology, a student must complete PSYC 120 and then earn a grade of C or higher in PSYC 211.)


LVAIC Cross-Registration 

Moravian University, in conjunction with DeSales University, Cedar Crest College, Lafayette College, Lehigh University, and Muhlenberg College, is a member of the Lehigh Valley association of Independent Colleges (LVAIC).  Moravian University students have the unique opportunity to enroll in one of these institutions through LVAIC cross registration. For more detailed information, refer to the LVAIC registration policy.

Ready to Make it Official?