Skip to main content
Art Department Events
Art

Events

Ackerman Lecture Series

Rudy_Ackerman.jpg

The Ackerman Lecture Series sponsors arts-related guest speakers.

The Ackerman Lecture Series was begun by Dr. Rudy S. Ackerman, chair of the art department for 37 years (1963-2002). Upon his retirement, Dr. Ackerman and his wife Rose, a Moravian graduate in Arts Administration, created the Ackerman Lecture Series and attended many of the lectures. Dr. Ackerman, also long-time Executive Director of The Baum School of Art in Allentown, PA, passed away in May 2015 at the age of 82. Everyone who knew him remembers his sense of humor, his passion for the arts, and his dedication to his students.

2016 Kurt Kauper, artist acmelosangeles.com/artists/kurt-kauper
2015 Angela Fraleigh, artist angelafraleigh.com
2015 Danielle Tegeder, artist dannielletegeder.com
2014 Jon Latiano, Moravian Class of 2006, installation artist jonathanlatiano.com *
2013 Heather Johnson, painter and cloth artist thefrighteningandbeautiful.blogspot.com
2013 Nadia Hironaka, video artist nadiahironaka.com
2012 Ellen Altfest, painter whitecube.com/artists/ellen_altfest
2011 Mirko Ilic, graphic designer and illustrator mirkoilic.com
2010 Lori Nix, diorama photographer lorinix.net
2010 Chris Doyle, multi-media artist chrisdoylestudio.com
2009 Graeme Sullivan, art educator sova.psu.edu/profile/graemesullivan
2009 Christopher Russell, sculptor/ceramist russellproject.com
2008 Claire Barliant, art critic and writer clairebarliant.com
2008 David Graham, photographer davidgrahamphotography.com
2007 Paul Galloway, painter
(Currently the Study Center Supervisor, Architecture & Design at The Museum of Modern Art) post.at.moma.org/profiles/1168-paul-galloway
2006 Scott Calhoun, artist scottcalhoun.info
2006 Thomas Mann, designer, sculptor, and metalsmith thomasmann.com/about.php
2005 Jeff Gernsheimer, Moravian Class of 1968, graphic designer partnersdesign.net

Exhibitions

HUB H. Paty Eiffe Gallery

2014_Impermanence_&_Imperfection_Lindsay_Woodruff_exhibition.JPG

The Haupert Union Building (HUB) H. Paty Eiffe Gallery is an exhibition space within the student union building on main campus. This venue on campus is the host of multiple exhibitions throughout the year, featuring the work of faculty, students, alumni, and artists within the community. It is also the site of an annual art auction to support a non-profit. Additionally, students curate and design informative poster exhibitions for this gallery on topics related to art and InFocus programming.

Students have the chance to exhibit their work in the HUB H. Paty Eiffe Gallery during the annual HUB Student Art Show and annual Celebrating Moravian Women Exhibition.

Payne Gallery

Payne Gallery is Moravian College’s most prestigious visual arts venue. Each year, Payne Gallery offers exhibits in a wide variety of art media and styles. Shows include national and international traveling exhibitions; shows arranged by guest curators, including Moravian College art faculty; shows in support of Moravian events, such as InFocus; and shows arranged in-house by the Payne Gallery staff. Works from Moravian College’s extensive permanent collection are also shown. Many exhibitions include talks by artists and curators.

10_Payne_Gallery_Faculty_Exhibition_2016_Artist_Talks.JPG

Each April and May, the annual Senior Thesis Exhibition showcases work by Moravian’s graduating senior art majors. During even-numbered years, the biennial Faculty Exhibition features work by Moravian’s art faculty members. Both exhibitions feature talks by the participating artists.

Moravian College students, faculty and staff are cordially invited to join members of the area visual arts community at Payne Gallery’s exhibitions and receptions.

 

1_2015_BLACK_LINES_Brianne_Schoolcraft_Student_Exhibition.jpg

Space 105

Space 105 is a gallery on campus dedicated solely to student exhibitions. Students in Art Club organize their own exhibitions for this space.

Senior studio art majors exhibit in Space 105 as part of their Senior Projects curriculum.


Trips

Once a semester, students taking an art course travel to New York City to visit museums and galleries. Museum visits have included seeing The Metropolitan Museum of Art, The Museum of Modern Art (MoMA), The Whitney, and The Guggenheim.

2014_Professor_Kristin_Baxter_with_First_Year_Seminar_Students_at_MoMA.JPG

An alternate day trip is also planned for each semester. Past trips have included visiting The Philadelphia Museum of Art, The Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts (PAFA), The Barnes Foundation, Grounds for Sculpture, Princeton University Art Museum, Storm King Art Center, and The Baltimore Museum of Art.

Art Club takes special trips to the museums and galleries locally and throughout the region, including one overnight trip each year.

For information about current semester trips, visit our Facebook page or email ciganickj@moravian.edu.


-header_image (1).JPG


Workshops

Art Club organizes workshops throughout the year. Workshops have included glassblowing, photographing artwork, canvas stretching, and mat cutting. Payne Gallery also plans workshops to accompany some exhibitions. For information about current semester events, visit our Facebook page or email ciganickj@moravian.edu.